How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Discussion related to the New Vision mod.

Moderator: DaveW

EER
Illuminati
Posts: 2486
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 7:52 pm
Location: NL

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by EER »

DaveW wrote:Bugger, yes I remember you offered to do it but by that time I think this guy was already working on it. Then he disappeared and I just forgot about it. I'll forward it all to you once I'm done editing an instruction video on installing it all manually :P
No worries :)
Another Visitor ... Stay a while ... Stay forever!
shinobi87
Thug
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by shinobi87 »

Fantastic shit going on here.

It's mad ain't it - DX lies dormant for ages (MP for example, at one point ~10 players online, now regularly reaches 100), fuck all comes out for years, now there's mods left right and centre!

I personally won't play gameplay altering mods as I believe it detracts from the experience. It does for me, anyway.

But NV is the shizzle. Few bugs but none that haven't already been mention in new bug thread.
Zak Blayde
Mole Person
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:15 am

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by Zak Blayde »

I don't manage to use New Vision and HDTP in the meantime.

My .ini looks like this :
[Core.System]
PurgeCacheDays=30
SavePath=..\Save
CachePath=..\Cache
CacheExt=.uxx
Paths=..\System\*.u
Paths=..\Maps\*.dx
Paths=..\HDTP\Maps\*.dx
Paths=..\HDTP\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\NVTextures\*.utx
Paths=..\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\Sounds\*.uax
Paths=..\Music\*.umx
Suppress=DevLoad
Suppress=DevSave
Suppress=DevNetTraffic
Suppress=DevGarbage
Suppress=DevKill
Suppress=DevReplace
Suppress=DevSound
Suppress=DevCompile
Suppress=DevBind
Suppress=DevBsp
I first installed Deus Ex, then 1.112 patch. I copied NVTextures and DX10 renderer, modified the .ini (in Documents folder because I use the Kentie launcher. Then I installed HDTP and modified the .ini again. I also tried to move the inside of the HDTP folder at the root of Deus Ex folder.

JC brother looks like this :
Image

Very different from that : http://www.offtopicproductions.com/hdtp ... p/paul.jpg
nerdenstein
Illuminati
Posts: 1591
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: Leicester, England, UK.

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by nerdenstein »

Pauls model hasn't been released yet, Gunther is the only character updated in the first release. You'll noticed that the crowbar and baton look better though. :)
The real trouble with reality is that there's no background music.
Zak Blayde
Mole Person
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:15 am

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by Zak Blayde »

Ok so it's just a matter of time. Too bad. I'll just wait a little longer.
nerdenstein
Illuminati
Posts: 1591
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: Leicester, England, UK.

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by nerdenstein »

There has been talk about the end of the month. There is a light at the end ofthe tunnel man. Please don't hold me to that though. :P
If is it though, I'm never gonna get my College work done with this and DXHR. :(
The real trouble with reality is that there's no background music.
DrakeDarkHunter
Mole Person
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:09 am

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by DrakeDarkHunter »

Hey, I just want to first state that I'm really thankful for all that you've done for Deus Ex and for new entrees to the series with your mod, the screenshots that I've seen look absolutely beautiful.

The problem is that I'm trying to run it alongside a number of other mods that may or may not be the cause of my problem, which is that the only sign of New Vision's presence when I start the game, is the new New York Skyline.

Just so you know instead of modifying the ini of the original Deus Ex I'm running it off of the Revision mod which I am using as my base file from which to add mod after mod.

So far I've gotten HDTP, Revision, and Shifter to work (words out on Enhanced) but no matter what I do. I always end up with the vanilla textures which defeats the whole point of getting New Vision.

Also so you know I'm running OpenGL and have done the necessary work with the Revision ini, the important part is below.

Paths=..\Revision\System\*.u
Paths=..\Revision\Maps\*.dx.
Paths=..\Revision\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\Revision\Sounds\*.uax
Paths=..\HDTP\Maps\*.dx
Paths=..\HDTP\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\Shifter\System\*.u
Paths=..\Shifter\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\HDTP\System\*.u
Paths=..\NVTextures\*.utx
bobby 55
Illuminati
Posts: 6354
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 9:15 am
Location: Brisbane Australia

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by bobby 55 »

Wouldn't you need to put the New Vision Textures above the Revision textures in the load order? Otherwise the first textures the game would grab would be the ones Revision uses.
Growing old is inevitable.......Growing up is optional
nerdenstein
Illuminati
Posts: 1591
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: Leicester, England, UK.

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by nerdenstein »

I'm not sure with Revision textures, it matters so much simply because the Revision Texture folder only holds textures that are new to revision and not in the original game. That's the way the listing works. It looks for all the textures from that map in the first line with *.utx at the end, if it still hasn't found them all, it moves to the next line and so forth. I think that's how it works anyhow... :?

My suggestion, go into the deusex.ini file and find the OpenGL settings section towards the bottom. Find the line: UseS3TC and if it says false, change it to true.
If the line isn't there, add it to the bottom of the OpenGL section.
The real trouble with reality is that there's no background music.
ggrotz
X-51
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:55 am

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by ggrotz »

Might this help?

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=11153

(I know I probably should be more of a publicity whore than I am)
DrakeDarkHunter
Mole Person
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:09 am

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by DrakeDarkHunter »

ggrotz: I downloaded your loader and it just might have just fixed all my problems...

Tell me what you'd like me to say to satisfy your ego, seriously whatever it is I'll say it if this continues to work.

Thank you, thank you so f***ing much!

Thank you once again to everyone who has developed the mods I am using, who has posted to give me advice, to everyone who has put out how to videos and everything. My appreciation is vast as hell! :D =D>
User avatar
kocmo
Thug
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:51 am

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by kocmo »

The following loading order works for me:

Code: Select all

[Core.System]
...
Paths=..\Revision\Shifter\*.u
Paths=..\Revision\System\*.u
Paths=..\Revision\Maps\*.dx
Paths=..\Revision\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\Revision\Sounds\*.uax
Paths=..\New Vision\Maps\*.dx
Paths=..\New Vision\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\HDTP\System\*.u
Paths=..\System\*.u
Paths=..\Maps\*.dx
Paths=..\HDTP\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\Textures\*.utx
Paths=..\Sounds\*.uax
Paths=..\Music\*.umx
...
I also had to rename HDTP\System\DeusEx.u to DeusEx.u.unused.

Note that I'm using a Shifter-based mod, which changes DeusEx.u.
Obiso44
Mole Person
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:15 pm

Re: How can I run New Vision alongside Revision and HDTP?

Post by Obiso44 »

Jaedar wrote:Hmm. you should get NV even when you run Revision or HDTP at least if you replaces the original textures(but backuping first I hope :)),Rachat prêt I seem to recall you could do it with .ini changes as well, if so, you just need to make the same .ini changes to HDTP.ini or Revision.ini. Otherwise, I don't know why it isn't working since all mods should use the files in Deus Ex/Textures.

As for Revision+HDTP... I have no idea, someone else might though. (Can't even remember what revision does :oops: )
Yes, yhis is what he should do
Post Reply