Cant work out how to make a .u file..

A refuge for those migrating from the fallen DXEditing.com and a place for general discussion relating to Deus Ex editing (coding, mapping, etc).
Bobby
Mole Person
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:48 pm

Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by Bobby »

Hello..

So 1) I turned the DeusEx.U file into a bunch of .uc files with WOTgrealExporter by using the export button.
2) I edited 2 of the .uc files by making small changes to existing code not adding new classes or anything
3) I want to turn the .uc files back into a DeusEx.U file so I can put it in my deusex folder and play the game with my changes

I go to the directory before where my uc files are
I drag uuc.exe into command prompt and write make into the window

It spams lines at me and says "success - 0 error(s), 0 warnings but doesn't give me a .u file. I have been trying to get it working for 8 hours and I am getting very annoyed with it
dx_blaster
Thug
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:47 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by dx_blaster »

You have to make sure the .u file you want to recreate is not present in your DeusEx\System folder.
-> if you want to recreat DeusEx.u -> rename or delete the orginal file
(but make sure you got a backup!, so renaming is the secure way)
wbr
DX_Blaster
sorry for my bad English it is not my native tongue

latest cool thing i found on the net:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y414Q7vV ... re=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoFe8hRy ... r_embedded
DDL
Traditional Evil Scientist
Traditional Evil Scientist
Posts: 3791
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:03 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by DDL »

Have you deleted/renamed your existing deusex.u?

Ok, here's what I do (because batch files and shit scare me).

Put UCC.exe in your system folder.

Delete deusex.u (or nename it to ORIG_Deusex.u or something, so you still have it, just in case)

Open command prompt

Navigate to your deusex system folder (for me this is C:\deusex\system )

Type ucc make

Wait for all the scrolling text to finish, and if all goes well it should eventually say something about updating headers (deusex.h)

Say no

It will then spaz out and essentially look like it's crashed, but it has in fact successfully recompiled deusex.u, which should now be in your system folder.
dx_blaster
Thug
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:47 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by dx_blaster »

DDL wrote: Wait for all the scrolling text to finish, and if all goes well it should eventually say something about updating headers (deusex.h)

Say no
Question:
i have used the .h files which comes with the sdk (headers.zip) -> does it matter if ucc updates the .h files or not?
2nd i notices it does not need the .h files at all only the "\Inc" folder to sucessfully creat a .h file....
wbr
DX_Blaster
sorry for my bad English it is not my native tongue

latest cool thing i found on the net:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y414Q7vV ... re=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoFe8hRy ... r_embedded
Bobby
Mole Person
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by Bobby »

I didn't touch my original deusex.u but if i rename it, it says "can't find files matching .."DeusEx\Classes\*.uc when I use the make command

My Deus Ex folder is here
Desktop\DeusEx\System\ucc.exe

My mod is here
Desktop\AMod\Classes\ my uc files

I direct command prompt to "Desktop\AMod" then drag ucc.exe into it and type make
Bobby
Mole Person
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by Bobby »

For now I have renamed deusex.u and made command prompt go to :DeusEx\System
my u files are in "DeusEx\System\Classes"

Now using the make command in this situation on "DeusEx\System" does this:

can't find files matching ..\DeusEx\Classes\*uc

History: UmakeCommandlet::Main

Exiting due to error

The log has this:
Heading: --------------------DeusExText--------------------
Log: Bound to DeusExText.dll
Log: Loading: Package DeusExText
Heading: --------------------IpServer--------------------
Log: Loading: Package IpServer
Heading: --------------------DeusEx--------------------
Warning: Failed to load 'DeusEx.u': Can't find file 'DeusEx.u'
Warning: Failed loading package: Can't find file 'DeusEx.u'
Log: Analyzing...
Log: Bound to DeusEx.dll
Critical: appError called:
Critical: Can't find files matching ..\DeusEx\Classes\*.uc
Exit: Executing UObject::StaticShutdownAfterError
Critical: UMakeCommandlet::Main
Exit: Exiting.

removing "EditPackages=DeusEx" from the ini files stops these errors but then its back to doing nothing so i put it back again.
DDL
Traditional Evil Scientist
Traditional Evil Scientist
Posts: 3791
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:03 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by DDL »

gah. I blame the wotgreal exporter for not automatically putting the uc files in the right place.

Removing deusex.u from the editpackages list simply makes the compiler never even bother looking for whether it needs to compile it or not. It also makes the game do the same, which obviously isn't a solution.

Now, when the compiler runs, it looks for deusex.u, cannot find it, so tries to recompile it. To do that, it MUST be able to find a folder named classes, containing all those uc files, and this folder MUST be in a folder named deusex, which MUST be in your root deusex folder.

So in your case Desktop\DeusEx\Deusex

And THEN you delete deusex.u, and run ucc make.
Bobby
Mole Person
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by Bobby »

thank you that works and I now get a u file.

However when I start the game I have a floating cube instead of the usual logo. The menu loads but none of the buttons work.

For now I am just using "WOTgrealExporter"'s export option on the game's usual deusex.u which gives me alot of u files in a classes folder then turning it back into a .u file with ucc.exe with no changes to make sure any problems I get are not caused by changes I make
Last edited by Bobby on Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:24 am, edited 2 times in total.
dx_blaster
Thug
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:47 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by dx_blaster »

Bobby wrote:thank you that works and I now get a u file.

However when I start the game I have a floating cube instead of the usual logo. The menu loads but none of the buttons work.

For now I am just decompiling the games usual deusex.u into a classes folder then turning it back into a .u file with no changes to make sure any problems I get are not caused by changes I make
have exact the same problem -> have no idea why.
i guess something is missing at exporting the .uc files
i used WOT Exporter and DX Editor (SDK) but the recompield .u is always broken.
wbr
DX_Blaster
sorry for my bad English it is not my native tongue

latest cool thing i found on the net:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y414Q7vV ... re=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoFe8hRy ... r_embedded
Bobby
Mole Person
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by Bobby »

I think something is wrong with "WOT Exporter"

if you use "UnrealEd.exe", go to the top right corner, click texture, change it to classes and then hit "export all "at the bottom right you get .uc files. These uc files work without problems unlike wot's ones.

I don't get the broken menu and the strange floating box when using this method to get .uc files.
DDL
Traditional Evil Scientist
Traditional Evil Scientist
Posts: 3791
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:03 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by DDL »

Sounds like the wotgreal exporter is stripping some properties (possibly because it's optimised for unreal rather than DX).

I've always just used the SDK export function, personally. Anyway, glad you got it sorted.
dx_blaster
Thug
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:47 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by dx_blaster »

Finaly I was able to recomplile DeusEx.u successfully!

I had to uncheck the "Actors Only" box to export all needed files, i missed that the 1st time.
Attachments
uncheck actors only box to get all needed files for export.
uncheck actors only box to get all needed files for export.
Actors_Only_DX_Edit.jpg (5.85 KiB) Viewed 10850 times
wbr
DX_Blaster
sorry for my bad English it is not my native tongue

latest cool thing i found on the net:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y414Q7vV ... re=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoFe8hRy ... r_embedded
ggrotz
X-51
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by ggrotz »

So does this work for any of the U files? For a start in changing something other than just poking around, I thought of downloading one of the high-res "flat world" pics and fixing it up to replace the globe in the HK MJ12 cathedral room. Found out that that texture is in DeusExDeco.u. Since I'm not finding a straight answer elsewhere thought I'd ask if the process is similar or if there's an easier way to handle trying this change out?
DDL
Traditional Evil Scientist
Traditional Evil Scientist
Posts: 3791
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:03 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by DDL »

I wouldn't remake the whole damn deco package just for one texture.

Er..also you'd need all the meshes and the exporter for that is a tad iffy sometimes.

So yeah, I'd just make my own texture pack with your world texture in (could be a .u or a .utx) and then recode the globe itself to use your texture instead of the original, so you only need to recompile deusex.u rather than anything else.
ggrotz
X-51
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Cant work out how to make a .u file..

Post by ggrotz »

DDL wrote: So yeah, I'd just make my own texture pack with your world texture in (could be a .u or a .utx) and then recode the globe itself to use your texture instead of the original, so you only need to recompile deusex.u rather than anything else.
Which I'm utterly failing at. I'm not seeing any examples on how to change a mesh to use different textures in the files I have exported and all the things I'm trying are not working, defaulting back to the original DeusExDeco images (the world mesh has 2 textures). Could someone (you or someone else) point me towards an example of how to do this? Thanks.
Post Reply