Deus Ex AI: Documentation of the Labels of State Seeking

A refuge for those migrating from the fallen DXEditing.com and a place for general discussion relating to Deus Ex editing (coding, mapping, etc).
Cybernetic pig
Illuminati

Deus Ex AI: Documentation of the Labels of State Seeking

Post by Cybernetic pig »

This is to help me, and others, understand State Seeking found in ScriptedPawn. I've spent a few days in the code trying to decipher it and ultimately failing, but I did manage to fix an exploit in there, which was my primary goal.
Even if it's no use to anybody else, it's documentation for me to return to if I want to improve core AI behaviour further, and my actual code and comments in GMDX's scripted pawn can remain intact also.
Thing is, I am NOT a programmer. I don't like coding. I've had little schooling in the subject. OK, I find it somewhat interesting but I know it's not for me and knew from the start. Ideally I should have an actual programmer doing these things, but the only actual programmers (about 3) that frequent this place have their own projects. Where the fuck are all the Deus Ex fans?

Question: when the code is running through the labels, it goes from top to bottom through the whole lot (all labels) unless otherwise specified with GoTo right?

The following sheds some light on the labels of state seeking (all vanilla code, my comments):

Code: Select all

Begin:                                   //We start from here unless otherwise specified.
	WaitForLanding();               //Calls this function which waits for the pawn to land before executing the code 
	PlayWaiting();                   //plays a standing animation where the pawns appear to breathe. 
	if ((Weapon != None) && bKeepWeaponDrawn && (Weapon.CockingSound != None) && !bSeekPostCombat) //checks conditions
	{
		if(DeusExPlayer(GetPlayerPawn()).DrugEffectTimer < 0)                         //Nested check