Forum rules
Please do not feed the trolls.
beejamin
HDTP Member
HDTP Member

Mailbox

Post by beejamin »

Greetings all!

This is my first attempt at texturing - the blue US mailbox found around hell's kitchen (I think). Lofa's fine new model and a slightly abused new skin. Click either for a depressing 1024 version... :cry:

Pleased to hear what you think!

Beej

Before and after:
http://www.caramel.com.au/downloads/mai ... ighRes.jpg
http://www.caramel.com.au/downloads/mai ... AndNew.jpg

New texture:
http://www.caramel.com.au/downloads/Mai ... proto1.jpg
http://www.caramel.com.au/downloads/Mai ... proto2.jpg
Last edited by OiNutter on Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Turned img tags into url tags to avoid authz prompting from the remote server.
EER
Illuminati

Post by EER »

Looks a lot better than the original :D

Just wondering, what is the rectangle near the top of the model? An opening for letters? It seems to me it's the only thing that's notably 'different' from the original model (not counting the resolution ;) ).
beejamin
HDTP Member
HDTP Member

Post by beejamin »

I reckon it's a handle to pull the door open.

Yeah - you're right, it's slightly different. The inside of the original handle has a highlight, but it just doesn't look like it should be there to me. The hollow would be in shadow in nearly all cases. Change it, or leave it you think?

Thanks mate!
EER
Illuminati

Post by EER »

Maybe make it a little darker, that should probably do the trick. However, I think other feedback is about to flow in, so maybe wait for that as well :)
ZeroPresence
The Nameless Mod
The Nameless Mod

Post by ZeroPresence »

well on theirs the handle looks like its an indent in the door, but yours looks like its a thin piece of metal on a hinge that folds down when you grab it so you can open the door easier. Know what I mean?
PV
Thug

Post by PV »

Indeed looks allot better, think it's too clean tough.