Coding

Stare in awe at the fascinating machinations of the TNM team during the last two years of production, this was our private forum.

Moderator: TNM Team

User avatar
Trestkon
Off Topic Productions
Off Topic Productions
Posts: 2820
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Trestkon »

I think you have to set it up that way, but I can't recall how:S
-Life does not snap to the x-axis
User avatar
Trestkon
Off Topic Productions
Off Topic Productions
Posts: 2820
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Trestkon »

Very nice:D

Although I'll reserve final judgement until I've beheld their awesomness ingame.
-Life does not snap to the x-axis
that guy
The Nameless Mod
The Nameless Mod
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:54 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by that guy »

footstep sounds implemented.

implemented reference in the precipitator class to ambientsound objects to enable/disable. Should this property be in precipitation zone as well / instead.
User avatar
Trestkon
Off Topic Productions
Off Topic Productions
Posts: 2820
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Trestkon »

Wootly! I really want to compile Alpha 2 just to try out all the little code bits you've added:D
-Life does not snap to the x-axis
User avatar
Trestkon
Off Topic Productions
Off Topic Productions
Posts: 2820
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Trestkon »

Shane, I tested it, and I see no problems with the precipitationnode texture. I added it to a map and it used the rainnode texture. I also opened the Corporate Sector and those nodes were using it as well.

Don't know why it's not working for you :?
-Life does not snap to the x-axis
that guy
The Nameless Mod
The Nameless Mod
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:54 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by that guy »

are you sure you were using the package I sent you and not your old precipitation package 0_o?
User avatar
Trestkon
Off Topic Productions
Off Topic Productions
Posts: 2820
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Trestkon »

that guy wrote:are you sure you were using the package I sent you and not your old precipitation package 0_o?
Yes, I deleted the old package and replaced it with yours. It'll test it again tomorrow to make sure, but I'm quite sure...
-Life does not snap to the x-axis
User avatar
Jonas
Off Topic Productions
Off Topic Productions
Posts: 14224
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:21 pm
Location: Hafnia

Post by Jonas »

Hey Shane, note I changed the second item on your to-do list. This one may be difficult, but if you can do it, I think these are the things which will be needed to implement snow:
  1. Slowing down the fall speed.
  2. Implementing a certain degree of random zigzagging.
  3. Removing the splash.
  4. Using a sprite instead of a model.
I suggest you use one of these textures for testing, maybe we won't even need to make a new texture for it:

Effects.Corona.Corona_A
Effects.Corona.Corona_G
Jonas Wæver
Chief Poking Manager of TNM

I've made some videogames:
Expeditions: Rome
Expeditions: Viking
Expeditions: Conquistador
Clandestine
that guy
The Nameless Mod
The Nameless Mod
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:54 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by that guy »

I should point out that Smoke's preciptation generator is so called since it is designed to be versatile enough to handle all forms of precipitation. I'd check out the properties avaialable before I go messing with code. I can do that however if you don't want to do it yourself or have someone else do it.
User avatar
Trestkon
Off Topic Productions
Off Topic Productions
Posts: 2820
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Trestkon »

EDIT: Never mind...I'm on crack.
-Life does not snap to the x-axis
that guy
The Nameless Mod
The Nameless Mod
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:54 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by that guy »

code for setting the flag Killer_Goats removed from firstframe of 20_downtown since it was already done in the pretravel for the goat map. Please confirm this is correct and adjust MS.html accordingly.
that guy
The Nameless Mod
The Nameless Mod
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:54 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by that guy »

also removed

Code: Select all

			// Identify the player as a killer
			if (flags.GetInt('KillCount_DXO') >= killsForDXOKiller)
				flags.SetBool('Killer_DXO',true,,23);
from sols ar given that it occurs in the dxo pretravel[/code]
User avatar
Jonas
Off Topic Productions
Off Topic Productions
Posts: 14224
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 9:21 pm
Location: Hafnia

Post by Jonas »

Aw man, I've totally lost track of how all that stuff works, I'll just take your word for it that it works, and if something goes wrong later, we'll catch it during beta ;)
Jonas Wæver
Chief Poking Manager of TNM

I've made some videogames:
Expeditions: Rome
Expeditions: Viking
Expeditions: Conquistador
Clandestine
that guy
The Nameless Mod
The Nameless Mod
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:54 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by that guy »

I'm going to try to explain the stealth thing again.
Assume me to have no knowledge of what missions go on in what maps.

Now there are five WC maps. The player gets a mission to plant the spyware device at WC. If the player has recieved this mission and has not yet completed the mission then he would be deemed to be doing the mission if he is in one of the WC maps. If he is spotted when he is deemed to be attempting the spyware mission then he will not get the stealth award for the spyware mission.

In this situation
if
(the player is detected) and (the player is in one of the WC maps) and (the player has got the mission but not completed it)
then
we would set the non-stealthy flag that corresponds to that mission. something like MS_Spyware_NoStealth

Now if I had a knowledge of the maps and missions I could do this myself. However I do not have this knowledge so I need to get it from you.

Information I will know when the player is detected:
-what map he is in
-the value of any flags

Information I do not currently know:
-how to work out what mission the player is doing based on this information

I can't really think how I can make this any clearer so I hope you understand. Otherwise if someone else gets it could you please rephrase it more coherently and repost.
Post Reply