How to start a business

UFOs, lost socks, discuss whatever you like here.

Moderators: Master_Kale, TNM Team

JaneHomy
Mole Person

How to start a business

Post by JaneHomy »

Long-time reader, first-time poster- started an account to share and discuss.

I am highly inspired by forum participants who successfully sold their business to retire. So it gave me courage to be open to discuss my situation and get guidance from experienced people.

I am in mid+ 50s, lost my job recently. I worked in the private sector with very limited safety net. My job situation has been unstable since last 7 years. Got laid-off three times already, 2 times restructuring, 1 time performance issue :-( I strongly believe it is them, but nowadays feel that maybe I am not able to compete with younger work-force anymore?

I have ~2 years of cash stashed in a bank for such rainy days + have some cash to start a biz.

While I am looking for jobs, (last time it took 6 months), I want to start a business, invest around $100K to start and then grow it over next 10-15 years, and finally, sell it to retire. The primary purpose is to supplement my income. Wife is a homemaker. Willing to help if I set up the business. If the business grows well, I might do it full time.

I have read up a few books on setting basics of business like forming LLC etc. But more confused than be able to find answers on what business to actually start. I did an MBA in 1995, so have some financial academic knowledge- but never worked in the business side of things. Getting an MBA was $ waste for me back then but may come in handy knowledge now. I don't like sales (as much), but will do for growing my biz.

I also called a couple of business brokers randomly, but not impressed so far. Where do I find reliable business brokers? I don't have a big friend circle to ask locally.

How to pick which biz to buy? I went through creating a list of criteria - such as location, income target, growth targets etc.